About the Republic of Tajikistan


The Tajik’s, whose language is nearly identical with Persian, were part of the ancient Persian Empire that was ruled by Darius I and later conquered by Alexander the Great (333 B.C. ). In the 7th and 8th centuries, Arabs conquered the region and brought Islam. The Tajik’s were successively ruled by Uzbeks and then Afghans until claimed by Russia in the 1860s. In 1924, Tajikistan was consolidated into a newly formed Tajik Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic, which was administratively part of the Uzbek SSR until the Tajik ASSR gained full-fledged republic status in 1929.

Tajikistan declared its sovereignty in Aug. 1990. In 1991, the republic's Communist leadership supported the attempted coup against Soviet president Mikhail Gorbachev. Tajikistan joined with ten other former Soviet republics in the Commonwealth of Independent States on Dec. 21, 1991. A parliamentary republic was proclaimed and presidential rule abolished in Nov. 1992. After independence, Tajikistan experienced sporadic conflict as the Communist-dominated government struggled to combat an insurgency by Islamic and democratic opposition forces. Despite continued international efforts to end the civil war, periodic fighting continued. The conflict ended officially on June 27, 1997, with the signing in Moscow of peace accords between the government of President Imomali Rakhmonov and the United Tajik Opposition (UTO), a coalition of largely Islamic groups.


The Republic of Tajikistan is located in the South-East of Central Asia. The territory of the Republic extends from West to East for 680 km, narrowed in the middle part up to 100 km and has a long on the North-West.

Ninety-three percent of Tajikistan's territory is mountainous, and the mountain glaciers are the source of its rivers. Tajikistan is an earthquake-prone area. The republic is bounded by China in the east – 430 km, Afghanistan to the south – 1030 km, and Uzbekistan – 910 km and Kyrgyzstan – 630 km to the west and north. The total length of the boundaries is 3000 km.    The central Asian republic also includes the Gorno-Badakh Shan Autonomous region.   Tajikistan is slightly larger than the state of Illinois.
Tajikistan occupies an area of 143100 km2.

The climate in the Republic of Tajikistan is continental, with precipitation expected annually (150–300 millimeters). Temperature range – from maximum +48 °C to a minimum –63 °C. Moreover, the temperature difference.