Home /  / Contact / Sitemap / Glossary

On 24 May 2012, a visit of Mr. P.K. Luchinsky, ex-President of the Republic of Moldova, signatory of the Basic Multilateral Agreement (MLA) TRACECA to the Headquarters of the PS IGC TRACECA


During the working visit of Mr. P.K. Luchinscky on the invitation of Mr. Ilham Aliyev, President of the Republic of Azerbaijan in Baku, the meeting was held between ex-president and Mr. E. Biriucov.

Secretary General of TRACECA informed Mr. Luchinscky on TRACECA latest developments since the signing of the MLA, implemented projects, major events, such as TRACECA Investment Forums as well as current and future plans.

Mr. Luchinscky shared his experience at the time of the office as president from 1996 to 2001, and the memories of the signing preparation of the MLA historic document by the Heads of States of 12 TRACECA member-countries. This document embodied endeavors of the member-states to create a reliable transport system to compete equally with the existing alternative routes.

During the discussion, Mr. Biriucov mentioned that the current role of the international transport TRACECA corridor is not only to ensure regular transportation of goods, but also to improve the transport infrastructure throughout the region of "New Silk Road". Special importance is attached to the creation of the most favorable conditions for transit traffic, facilitation of border-crossing procedures and harmonization of legislation.

There was also exchange of views on the key points noted in the Strategy of the IGC TRACECA for the development of the international transport corridor Europe-Caucasus-Asia for the period up to 2015 as well as on attracting new concerned countries to adhere to the MLA.

It should be mentioned that the UN-registered Basic Multilateral Agreement (MLA) on International Transport for Development of the Europe – Caucasus - Asia Corridor was signed in 1998 at Baku Summit and at the moment ratified by 13 countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Romania, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan).


Permanent Secretaritat of the IGC TRACECA